Sarah-er Than You

Sarah-er, More Sarah, More of the Time

If I Ran HR

Posted by saraherthanyou on November 16, 2009

I am very aware that the economy is bad and HR is receiving hundreds (or thousands) of applications for every job posting. But clearly HRs are falling into bad habits that will really hurt them when applicants have more leverage. I will not talk about any particular company, but I’ve been applying for jobs for about 3 months, so I think I can speak generally. Here’s my code of conduct/courtesy for HRs.

1) If you bring me in for an interview, you are required to call and give an update whether you offer me the job or not. I had to get my suit dry cleaned, shower and try to sound intelligent for at least an hour, you can spare 5 minutes to call me and tell me I didn’t get the job. Believe me, I won’t want to chatty after that.

2) If we have a phone interview, do not say that you will follow up with me regardless of the outcome if you will not, in fact, follow up with me regardless. This phenomenon makes me think of the Friends episode where Chandler goes on the bad date with Rachel’s boss and can’t stop himself from saying, “well this was great, I’ll give you a call, we should do it again sometime.”

It’s ok if you don’t want to call me unless I’m a candidate, but then say that you’ll call me if you’d like to bring me in for an interview. I’m a big girl, I can handle it.

3) If you broke rules 1 and 2, or if I’m really interested in the job and I follow up with a phone call or email, RESPOND! You’re busy, I get that. But when I am really excited about a position or have spoken with you and you said you’d follow up and didn’t, I want to know where I stand. It’s not that hard to shoot me an email thanking me for my time and telling me that a) I’m not a fit, b) you won’t be interviewing me or c) you’ve already selected your interview candidates.

Job candidates, for the most part, don’t want to be obnoxious. But it’s extremely hard to apply for jobs and hear nothing for days or weeks. I had one job that I applied for and 10 weeks went by before they contacted me for an interview. At that point, I assumed I had no shot. So cut us some slack and we won’t assume that you’ll get back to us within 24 hours. Deal?

One Response to “If I Ran HR”

  1. That same Friends image has come to my mind for the same reason! HR definitely acts like it’s telling someone, “let’s just be friends.”

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

