Sarah-er Than You

Sarah-er, More Sarah, More of the Time

On Mondo Beyondo

Posted by saraherthanyou on October 6, 2009

What is Mondo Beyondo, you ask? According to the site, “This five week online class complete with inspiring lessons, real life stories, secret missions, audio interviews and hands-on activities will help you take your dreams from the realm of wishing into everyday motion.”

So why did I sign up for the course? My life up until this point has been a calculation in avoiding risk and taking the easiest path to the end result. I majored in Journalism and Creative Writing in college not because I had a true passion for either, but because I liked them well enough and I could get good grades. I accepted internships to help me get a job, graduated early figuring I’d have an easier time getting a job, and took the first job I was offered.

I seem to do everything by the book and while I hope/dream of having more passion for what I do, I haven’t made any steps to make those dreams come true. I’d love to make a living writing, but I seize up with anxiety every time I sit down to put pen to paper (or tap, tap, tap on the keyboard). I would love to move away from DC, where I’ve spent 22 or the last 26 years, and live some place new, but it’s never the right time to pick up and leave and what if I don’t find a job in the new place…

So it’s time to stop thinking so realistically and start dreaming bigger and trusting that my dreams can become reality.

Leave a Reply

 
