Sarah-er Than You

Sarah-er, More Sarah, More of the Time

A DC Halloween Tradition

Posted by saraherthanyou on October 28, 2009

From a few years ago, photo courtesy of my friend Bryan

I was a wuss and worried that I’d melt in the rain, so I skipped the Drag Queen High Heel Race. Clearly I’m not a true DC resident.

The race, which started 23 years ago, began after a few drunk drag queens proposed a race from JR’s Bar & Grill to Annie’s Paramount Steakhouse. Each queen would then have to down a shot and race back. Now, though, it’s just one-way and there are plenty of racers who just walk in their fabulous high heels.
Over the years I’ve seen Condoleezza Rice, many Monica Lewinskys and the ladies from The View. There have been fat ladies and thin, branded costumes and movie stars. All generally in skimpy outfits and some in poor taste.
Some of my favorite photos from this year:
Leave a Reply

 
