Sarah-er Than You

Sarah-er, More Sarah, More of the Time

The Wishing Year, Part Dos

Posted by saraherthanyou on November 12, 2009

After my post on Monday, I went outside to enjoy the gorgeous day (what up global warming?) and continue reading The Wishing Year. I found spot outside Starbucks in the sun and dove in. I made it to the “May” chapter where Noelle Oxenhandler examines other authors’ takes on wishes. She says that, on beginning her own experience, she had to follow American philosopher and psychologist William James’ practice of “a willing suspension of disbelief.”

Needless to say that I almost fell out of my chair. I used almost the exact same phrase on Monday to describe by decision to join the Mondo Beyondo class. You know that sense you get when you read about something and then suddenly everywhere you turn, you hear about it, friends are talking about it, it’s on TV? That’s how I’m trying to frame wishing in my mind. Once I put the wish out there, I’ll become more aware of the opportunities to make it come true.

Leave a Reply

 
